Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


Regional Projects for the Safe Transport of Radioactive Material


IAEA recognises the benefits that can be achieved by the creation of regional networks dedicated to strengthening the safety of the transport of radioactive material and has requested the Secretariat to encourage and promote the creation of these networks.

Several of these networks are currently being developed, notably in Africa, Asia, the Pacific Islands, the Caribbean Islands, and the Mediterranean Region. An existing network, the European Association of Competent Authorities (EACA) which was created in 2008 by the European Union competent authorities, brings together on a voluntary and non-legally binding basis, the Competent Authorities and transport safety regulators for radioactive material of the Members States of the European Union.

The Regional Projects for the Safe Transport of Radioactive Material

The mission of the regional projects is to foster a coordinated approach amongst the Member States of the region in order to develop a common or harmonised view for the interpretation and implementation of the regulations for the transport of radioactive material in the region. The aim is to provide proactive means of maintaining and developing a consistent high level of safety for the transport of radioactive material in the individual region and also in relation to and with the neighbouring networks. The networks therefore, provide opportunities to establish personal contacts in order to promote confidence and mutual respect of competences amongst the network members to facilitate the development of an effectively functioning network.


            • Develop common understanding and promote more effective interaction between competent authorities at a working level
            • Share knowledge and relevant good practices and, potentially, resources
            • Identify needs and participate in joint working groups with defined outputs, and
            • Establish working links between the neighbouring networks


Membership to the networks

Membership to the networks is restricted to regulators for the transport of radioactive material in order to promote open discussion between the members. Membership is on a voluntary basis and is non-legally binding: there is no legal obligation on any participating member to apply/implement documents or approaches that have been discussed/developed in common within the network.

Please note: To take part in the discussions as a member please register on the IAEA's NUCLEUS server and login to the Regulatory Infrastructure and Transport Safety collaboration working space

Moving forward

Amongst the specific actions identified as a first priority in common for most of the networks will be to compile a list of import-export and transit requirements, and develop an approach for compliance inspection and approval of packages.






Bangladesh, Cambodia, Lao PDR, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, China, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Vietnam, Afghanistan, Bahrain, Iraq, Iran, Oman, Syria, TTUJ of T. Palestine A., Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Yemen


Mr Chris Bajwa, Transport Safety Unit

Pacific and Caribbean Islands

Fiji, Marshall Islands, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Cook Islands, Kiribati, Solomon Islands Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, Panama, Puerto Rico, British Virgin Islands, Antigua and Barbuda, Turks and Caicos Islands, Barbados, Guyana, Saint Kitts and Nevis


Mr Chris Bajwa Transport Safety Unit


Albania, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Greece, Montenegro, Portugal, Turkey, Lebanon, Syria, Tunisia, Algeria, Egypt, Morocco, FYROM


Dr Loris Rossi
Transport Safety Unit


South Africa, Botswana, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Ghana, Nigeria, Ethiopia, Kenya, Sudan, Tanzania, Morocco, Burkina Faso, Gabon, Madagascar, Niger, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire


Ms Nancy Capadona Transport Safety Unit