Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Safety Packages
SSG-16 Modules and Workshops

‚ÄčSafety Packages of IAEA Assistance for Establishing Safety Infrastructure

Click on the map to consult the content of each module


The IAEA has developed Safety Packages based on Safety Guide SSG-16 to assist embarking countries on nuclear power to develop capacities towards the establishment of a nuclear safety infrastructure. The Safety Packages are 11 thematic modules listing applicable Safety Standards, peer review services, capacity building means (i.e. education & training programmes, advisory services and relevant publications) and collaboration and knowledge networks to facilitate mapping out the requirements of the 20 essential safety elements of SSG-16.

Each package give guidance as to who is responsible (e.g., Government, Operating Organization, Regulatory Body); what the actions are; when the actions should be implemented in each of the 3 development phases of safety infrastructure for nuclear power; and how the Agency can assist Member States through peer review services, advisory services, education and training, networks, methodologies and tools to that end.