Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


​WWER Regulators’ Forum

The Forum of the State Nuclear Safety Authorities of the Countries Operating WWER Type Reactors (the Forum) was established in 1993.

The objective of the Forum is to foster enhancement of the nuclear safety and radiation protection in the interested countries through utilization of the collective experience, information exchange and consolidation of efforts of the national nuclear safety authorities to study safety problems and improve regulatory policies and practices.

The current members of the Forum are heads of the regulatory authorities of Armenia, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, China, Finland, Hungary, India, Iran, Russia, Slovakia and Ukraine. Representatives of Germany and the IAEA take part in the Forum as observers.

The Forum acts under the Memorandum signed by the Member Countries in 1998 in Armenia.

The Forum holds annual meetings hosted by the Member Countries by turns. As a rule, the heads of the Member Countries' regulatory authorities attend the annual meetings.

At the Forum meetings, the heads of the delegation report on issues of nuclear and radiation safety regulation in their countries and discuss safety significant events that might have occurred at the WWER NPPs.

Under the Memorandum, the Forum establishes working groups at its meetings to discuss issues selected by the Forum.

The current working groups are:

  • Use of PSA methods (chaired by Armenia);
  • Determination of requirements to manufacture quality and safety demonstration of nuclear fuel for VVER NPPs, including requirements to verification of codes (chaired by Russia);
  • Regulatory Aspects of Organizational, Management and Safety Culture Related Issues (chaired by Finland; completion of work in 2012).